poplaloans.blogg.se

Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement
Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement








  1. #Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement drivers#
  2. #Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement update#

That sounded like a lot, but it turned out to be a bargain because it's like getting a new pair of $1000 speakers. (I'm guessing most audio geeks who buy stuff like this don't need them.) Instead, Bob Crites emailed links to instructions on his website:Ĭost for the project: $260 for a pair of new Quartet crossovers, $52 for a pair of titanium tweeter diaphragms, and $13 shipping for a total of $325.00. The parts did not come with any paper work or instructions. That part only took about five minutes for each speaker. Installing the titanium tweeter diaphragms was much simpler. (The original Klipsch connectors seem to be of higher quality and the wires were more securely attached, but I'm not complaining.) I managed to get it crimped back on and hopefully it will hold. In the process of fiddling with them I somehow pulled the wire loose from one of the connectors. It took some experimenting to figure out how much. The instructions said you might have to crimp them a little to get a tight fit. The only drama I had was with the speaker terminal connectors. They're a little hard to reach from inside. In my case, I was removing the tweeters anyway to replace the diaphragms, which made it easier to hook them up from the front. If you're just installing the crossover, you can do it all inside the box through the passive woofer opening. There are a LOT of screws, so a power screwdriver is recommended. I took pictures of the hookups as I went along to make sure I maintained polarity. The first one took about an hour, the second one about 20 minutes once I had it all figured out. All you need is a Phillips screwdriver and a pair of needle-nose pliers. Installation was pretty easy as advertised, too. There seems to be less "ear fatigue" even at louder volumes.įor home theater use, surround sound dialogue seems clearer than before. I can once again hear the sizzle of the high-hat cymbals. The titanium tweeter updates are indeed "smoother" as advertised. It's also "wider," for lack of a better way to describe it. The sound is much cleaner, crisper and clearer. The difference is amazing, even to my tired old ears. I was pleased to find out I was wrong about that.

#Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement update#

I have to admit I was a little skeptical about this update making much noticeable difference. (They hand build the crossovers to order, so it takes a couple of days.) I installed them this morning. I ordered the crossovers and titanium diaphragms last week and got the kit yesterday. (He also sells capacitor only replacement kits, but they involve modifying the original crossover circuit board and soldering and stuff, so that's not for me.) He assured me that installation would be easy. He suggested new crossovers and replacement titanium tweeter diaphragms. So anyway, I emailed Bob Crites and asked for his recommendation. I've had them so long I guess it was a gradual deterioration that I didn't notice until some recent unrelated updates. Either way, my speakers were way past overdue for a crossover repair. The Quartets and some other models apparently used cheaper parts that can go bad after five or six years. In the high end Klipsch speakers, they can last about 20 years. In reading up at his site about crossovers, I learned that the capacitors go bad after a while.

#Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement drivers#

His company sells replacement crossovers, drivers and other stuff. On a few interweb audio chat forums, I came across some info about this guy Bob Crites out of Russellville Arkansas.īob Crites appears to know a lot about Klipsch speakers. So I was looking around at new speakers out of curiosity. (It's likely that my tired old ears contribute to that somewhat.) They were recently, to me anyway, starting to sound a little tired, and not as "crisp" or "open" and occasionally a little "harsh." It felt like something was missing. They are now about 24 years old, after having bought them new. I have a pair of Klipsch Quartet speakers that I use for listening to music and as front surround speakers for our home theater setup.










Price of crites speakers klipsch kg 4.2 tweeter replacement